Timescale For Ranking High Volume Keyword

Home Forums SEO Mastermind Timescale For Ranking High Volume Keyword

This topic contains 76 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by   Peter Wootton .

• Author

Colin Hodgson

From your experience, how long did it take to rank a 100K+ search volume keyword from not ranking at all to page 1? What was your methodology?

Peter Wootton
    Keymaster

Are you planning a contest on that?

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

No, just comparing notes.

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

It also allows me to gauge how many are in that space.

Peter Wootton
    Keymaster

100K+? I’m just a simple SERP farmer tending his low-volume keywords.

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

Max I get is about 2k search volume. Haha

Peter Wootton
    Keymaster

43 years and counting.

Peter Wootton
    Keymaster

Haven’t cracked page 1 for a 100k term yet, the closest was #7 for “contact google” with 33k searches per month. It took about 11 months but we only promoted it with a press release and nothing else since it’s not really a “money” term more of a vanity term.

Peter Wootton
    Keymaster

Pretty close at 95k with “download facebook videos”

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

Strategy was really simple: Wrote an in depth article addressing all the related keywords in the content. Wrote paragraphs to bait snippets. The only link building was a press release many months ago.

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

What strategy do you use to bait snippet?

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

Ask questions with your H2 and answer questions very explicitly with your body content.

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

This example is a 1 to 1 article, this article is trying to rank for exactly 1 snippet and it uses the H1 for this. https://www.logicinbound.com/is-shopify-safe/

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster

“How to” questions tend to prefer lists

Peter Wootton
      Keymaster